Your Subtitle text

Current Teams History

In 1960 with the formation of the AFL, the NFL was was again being challenged by a rival league. With the draft wars and players defecting on both sides an agreement was made in 1966 to merge the two leagues. This created the need for the first Super Bowl as the winners of each leagues Championship game would face off for a definitive World Championship.
In 1970 the NFL merger with the AFL was complete. For uniformity, changes had to be made. The AFL used a different ball than the NFL did. They also had names on the backs of their jerseys while the NFL didn't. The newly merged league agreed to use the NFLs choice of a Wilson football, agreed that all teams would have jersey names but threw out the AFL option of a 2-point conversion. (Although the league has since adopted this play) The result was to organize in to 2 conferences with 3 divisions each. To even things out, the Pittsburgh Steelers, Cleveland Browns and Baltimore Colts were moved to the newly created AFC. The American Football Conference and the National Football Conference each divided by region. This caused confusion when you had teams like the Atlanta Falcons and New Orleans Saints playing in the NFC West while the Arizona Cardinals were in the East. Another problem was unevenness in how many teams were in each division. In 2002, with the addition of the expansion Houston Texans, the league was able to reorganize into 8 divisions with 4 teams in each division.

Current NFL Team Alignment. Click teams logo for complete history.

                                                          AFC NORTH                                                           
                                                                                                                                                                              Baltimore Ravens                     Cincinnati Bengals                Cleveland Browns              Pittsburgh Steelers                          

                                                                                                                                     AFC SOUTH                                                                                                      
                                                                                                                Tennessee Titans                                                                                                      Houston Texans                       Indianapolis Colts                   Jacksonville Jaguars            Tennessee Titans                            

                                                                                                                                              AFC EAST                                                                                                              
                                                                        Buffalo Bills                          Miami Dolphins                  New England Patriots              New York Jets

                                                                                                                                              AFC WEST
                                                   Denver Broncos                        Kansas City Chiefs                   Oakland Raiders                 San Diego Chargers 

                                                                                                                                               NFC NORTH

                                                     Chicago Bears                     Detroit Lions                 Green Bay Packers            Minnesota Vikings


                                                                                                            NFC SOUTH
                                                Carolina Panthers                             Atlanta Falcons                  New Orleans Saints              Tampa Bay Buccaneers

                                                                                                                                                NFC EAST

                                                                                Washington Redskins
                                                   Dallas Cowboys                   New York Giants              Philadelphia Eagles        Washington Redskins

                                                                                                           NFC WEST
                                                                     Arizona Cardinals                    San Francisco  49ers                  St. Louis Rams                    Seattle Seahawks                                                   
Website Builder
- auction6 - sale2